National Geographic has named their 2014 Adventurers of the Year.

“For nine years, National Geographic has combed the globe to find the Adventurers of the Year, each selected for his or her extraordinary achievement in exploration, adventure sports, conservation, and humanitarianism.


This year, we picked people who embody the spirit of adventure in diverse ways—a sky runner reinventing the rules; a skier reimagining his backyard; a climber seeking the hardest routes; a solo woman walking across the globe; a pair of veterans creating community where it’s needed most; and five more incredible feats.”

Folks know I’m a HUGE Kilian Jornet fan.  That said, I was inspired by ALL of this year’s honorees.


The Honorees

•             Adventure Educators Amy and Dave Freeman

•             Alpinists Raphael Slawinski and Ian Welsted

•             Big-Wave Surfer Greg Long

•             Climber Adam Ondra

•             Community Builders Stacy Bare and Nick Watson

•             Explorer Sarah Marquis

•             Long-Distance Swimmer Diana Nyad

•             Skier JP Auclair

•             Sky Runner Kilian Jornet

•             Snowboarder Kevin Pearce


VOTE HERE for People’s Choice Adventurer of the Year:

(If you don’t vote for Kilian, check out Explorer Sarah Marquis.  WOW – super inspired!)

Adventurer of the Year - Kilian Jornet

Adventurer of the Year – Kilian Jornet




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *